Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Saturday, 16 January 2021


The United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union


Brexit was the withdrawal of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU) and the European Atomic Energy Community at the end of 31 January 2020 CET. To date, the UK is the first and only country formally to leave the EU, after 47 years of membership within the bloc, after having first joined its predecessor, the European Communities (EC), on 1 January 1973. It continued to participate in the European Union Customs Union and European Single Market during a transition period that ended on 31 December 2020 at 23:00 GMT.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like

Brexit media coverage


More coverage