Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 4 March 2021


Indo-Aryan language spoken in India


Hindi, or more precisely Modern Standard Hindi, is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in India. Hindi has been described as a standardised and Sanskritised register of the Hindustani language, which itself is based primarily on the Khariboli dialect of Delhi and neighbouring areas of Northern India. Hindi, written in the Devanagari script, is one of the two official languages of the Government of India, along with the English language. It is an official language in 9 States and 3 Union Territories and an additional official language in 3 other States. Hindi is also one of the 22 scheduled languages of the Republic of India.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like

Hindi media coverage