Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Wednesday, 20 January 2021


Capital of Australia


Canberra is the capital city of Australia. Founded following the federation of the colonies of Australia as the seat of government for the new nation, it is Australia's largest inland city and the eighth-largest city overall. The city is located at the northern end of the Australian Capital Territory, 280 km (170 mi) south-west of Sydney and 660 km (410 mi) north-east of Melbourne.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

Australia PM: U.S. violence distressing

Reuters Studio

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison described the scenes in Washington D.C. as "terribly distressing" as he expressed concern..

You might like

Canberra media coverage