Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 29 July 2021

United States Congress

Legislature of the United States

United States Congress
United States Congress

The United States Congress is the bicameral legislature of the federal government of the United States and consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate. The Congress meets in the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C. Both senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a governor's appointment. Congress has 535 voting members: 100 senators and 435 representatives. The Vice President of the United States has a vote in the Senate only when senators are evenly divided; the House of Representatives has six non-voting members.

0 shares 19 views

News coverage

United States Congress media coverage


More coverage