Government of New South Wales

State government of New South Wales, Australia

Government of New South Wales    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Government of New South Wales: State government of New South Wales, Australia
The Government of New South Wales, also referred to as the New South Wales Government or NSW Government, is the Australian state democratic administrative authority of New South Wales. It is currently held by a coalition of the Liberal Party and the National Party. The Government of New South Wales, a parliamentary constitutional monarchy, was formed in 1856 as prescribed in its Constitution, as amended from time to time. Since the Federation of Australia in 1901, New South Wales has been a state of the Commonwealth of Australia, and the Constitution of Australia regulates its relationship with the Commonwealth. Under the Australian Constitution, New South Wales ceded legislative and judicial supremacy to the Commonwealth, but retained powers in all matters not in conflict with the Commonwealth.


You Might Like

Gladys Berejiklian says NSW kids should go to school, but there will be no penalties if they don't

The NSW Government has taken two days to release its plan to ease COVID-19 restrictions, which includes the start of face-to-face teaching at schools from Monday.
SBS - Published

NSW treasurer to reveal smaller surplus

NSW Treasurer Dominic Perrottet is set to reveal his third budget and the first since the coalition was re-elected in March.
SBS - Published

NSW Government to introduce building industry overhaul to parliament this week

The NSW Premier says the government is "getting to the bottom of what happened" as some residents are permitted access on Monday to retrieve belongings.
SBS - Published

NSW treasurer promises 'no new taxes'

NSW Treasurer Dominic Perrottet concedes the state's debt levels are rising but has promised not to introduce a single new tax in next week's budget.
SBS - Published

Search this site and the web: