Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Friday, 22 October 2021

Australian Capital Territory

Federal territory of Australia, containing the capital city, Canberra

Australian Capital Territory
Australian Capital Territory

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT), known as the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) until 1938, is a landlocked federal territory of Australia containing the national capital Canberra and some surrounding townships. It is located in southeastern Australian mainland as an enclave completely within the state of New South Wales. Founded after Federation as the seat of government for the new nation, all important institutions of the Australian Government are headquartered in the territory.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage