Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Wednesday, 28 July 2021

Major League Baseball

Professional baseball league

Major League Baseball
Major League Baseball

Major League Baseball (MLB) is an American professional baseball organization and the oldest of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. A total of 30 teams play in Major League Baseball: 15 teams in the National League (NL) and 15 in the American League (AL). The NL and AL were formed in 1876 and 1901, respectively. Beginning in 1903, the two leagues cooperated but remained legally separate entities until 2000 when they merged into a single organization led by the Commissioner of Baseball. The league is headquartered in Midtown Manhattan.

0 shares 8 views

News coverage

Major League Baseball media coverage