Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Sunday, 25 July 2021

Sri Lanka

Country in South Asia

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, formerly known as Ceylon, and officially the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, is an island country in South Asia. It lies in the Indian Ocean, southwest of the Bay of Bengal, and southeast of the Arabian Sea; it is separated from the Indian subcontinent by the Gulf of Mannar and the Palk Strait, but shares a maritime border with the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte is its legislative capital, and Colombo is its largest city and financial centre.

0 shares 6 views

News coverage

Sri Lanka media coverage


More coverage