Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Monday, 25 January 2021


Equatorial country in East Africa


Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya, is a country in Eastern Africa. At 580,367 square kilometres (224,081 sq mi), Kenya is the world's 48th largest country by total area. With a population of more than 47.6 million people in the 2019 census, Kenya is the 29th most populous country. Kenya's capital and largest city is Nairobi, while its oldest city and first capital is the coastal city of Mombasa. Kisumu City is the third largest city and also an inland port on Lake Victoria. Other important urban centres include Nakuru and Eldoret. As of 2020, Kenya is the third largest economy in sub-Saharan Africa after Nigeria and South Africa. Kenya is bordered by South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Uganda to the west, Tanzania to the south, and the Indian Ocean to the southeast.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

CNN10 - 1/22/21

Bleacher Report AOL

Our subjects this Friday: the U.S. Senate’s busy schedule, lake-effect snow, a virtual visit to Kenya, a story with a ring, and a..

You might like

Kenya media coverage