Celebrating 10 Years of Trusted News Discovery
One News Page
> >

Northern Territory

Federal territory of Australia

Northern Territory    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Northern Territory: Federal territory of Australia
The Northern Territory is an Australian territory in the central and central northern regions of Australia. It shares borders with Western Australia to the west, South Australia to the south, and Queensland to the east. To the north, the territory looks out to the Timor Sea, the Arafura Sea and the Gulf of Carpentaria, including Western New Guinea and other Indonesian islands. The NT covers 1,349,129 square kilometres (520,902 sq mi), making it the third-largest Australian federal division, and the 11th-largest country subdivision in the world. It is sparsely populated, with a population of only 246,700, making it the least-populous of Australia's eight states and major territories, with fewer than half as many people as Tasmania.


Labor lost argument around jobs: NT govt

Labor's Warren Snowdon has claimed victory in his Northern Territory seat of Lingiari on Monday morning.
SBS - Published

Meteor lights up NT outback night sky

A meteor lit up the Northern Territory outback overnight with a brilliant white light seen in Alice Springs and 500 kilometres north in Tennant Creek.
SBS - Published

Labor's Snowdon claims victory in NT seat

Labor's Warren Snowdon has claimed victory in his Northern Territory seat of Lingiari on Monday morning.
SBS - Published

Remote housing a front-and-centre issue for Indigenous voters in NT

Sleeping under the stars on a Darwin street, Paula Roberts dreams of her own home. The former teaching assistant and grandmother of twelve says she could afford to pay rent, if only she had access to a..
SBS - Published

Labor close to claiming second NT seat

Labor looks to have held the Northern Territory's two seats, but Bill Shorten had promised more funding for projects in the Territory than the Coalition.
SBS - Published

Labor manages to hold on to both NT seats

Labor has held on to its only two seats in the Northern Territory with reduced margins, in a slight surprise given the party's unexpected overall polls loss.
SBS - Published

You Might Like

Environmentally friendly: One News Page is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2019 One News Page Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Press Room  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest
One News® is a registered trademark of One News Page Ltd.