Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Saturday, 19 June 2021


Capital of New South Wales and most populous city in Australia


Sydney is the capital city of the state of New South Wales, and the most populous city in Australia and Oceania. Located on Australia's east coast, the metropolis surrounds Port Jackson and extends about 70 km (43.5 mi) on its periphery towards the Blue Mountains to the west, Hawkesbury to the north, the Royal National Park to the south and Macarthur to the south-west. Sydney is made up of 658 suburbs, spread across 33 local government areas. Informally there are at least 15 regions. Residents of the city are known as "Sydneysiders". As of June 2020, Sydney's estimated metropolitan population was 5,367,206, meaning the city is home to approximately 66% of the state's population.

1 shares 13 views

News coverage

‘Privileged playpen’ a penile colony

Sydney Morning Herald

How pathetically childlike are the members of the Boys’ Own Australian Club of Sydney, with their night frights about “frilly,..

Sydney media coverage