Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 29 July 2021

Richard Nixon

37th president of the United States (1969–74)

Richard Nixon
Richard Nixon

Richard Milhous Nixon was the 37th president of the United States, serving from 1969 to 1974. A member of the Republican Party, Nixon previously served as the 36th vice president from 1953 to 1961, having risen to national prominence as a representative and senator from California. After five years in the White House that saw the conclusion to the U.S. involvement in the Vietnam War, détente with the Soviet Union and China, and the establishment of the Environmental Protection Agency, he became the only president to resign from the office, following the Watergate scandal.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

On GPS: The man behind Nixon

Bleacher Report AOL

’First Friends’ author Gary Ginsberg and Fareed examine former president Richard Nixon’s friendship with Bebe Rebozo.