Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Wednesday, 20 January 2021

European Union

Economic and political union of European states

European Union
European Union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. Its members have a combined area of 4,233,255.3 km2 (1,634,469.0 sq mi) and an estimated total population of about 447 million. The EU has developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws that apply in all member states in those matters, and only those matters, where members have agreed to act as one. EU policies aim to ensure the free movement of people, goods, services and capital within the internal market; enact legislation in justice and home affairs; and maintain common policies on trade, agriculture, fisheries and regional development. Passport controls have been abolished for travel within the Schengen Area. A monetary union was established in 1999, coming into full force in 2002, and is composed of 19 EU member states which use the euro currency. The EU has often been described as a sui generis political entity.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

You might like

European Union media coverage


More coverage

The EU's 'SURE' financial aid explained

euronews (in English)

Learn how the EU's 'SURE' initiative is keeping unemployment at bay during the pandemic by boosting financial aid to furlough..