Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Sunday, 24 January 2021

New Zealand

Island country in the South Pacific

New Zealand
New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It consists of two main landmasses—the North Island and the South Island —and more than 700 smaller islands, covering a total area of 268,021 square kilometres (103,500 sq mi). New Zealand is about 2,000 kilometres (1,200 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the islands of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. New Zealand's capital city is Wellington, and its most populous city is Auckland.

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

You might like

New Zealand media coverage


More coverage