Celebrating 10 Years of Trusted News Discovery
One News Page
> >

Australian Senate

Upper house of the Australian Parliament

Australian Senate    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Australian Senate: Upper house of the Australian Parliament
The Senate is the upper house of the bicameral Parliament of Australia, the lower house being the House of Representatives. The composition and powers of the Senate are established in Chapter I of the Constitution of Australia. There are a total of 76 Senators: 12 are elected from each of the six Australian states regardless of population and 2 from each of the two autonomous internal Australian territories. Senators are popularly elected under the single transferable vote system of proportional representation.


Northern Australia policy under microscope

The federal government's plan for Northern Australia will be put under the microscope, with a new Senate inquiry to review the coalition's agenda for the area.
SBS - Published

Barilaro urges federal Nats to consider Liberal Senate challenge

The NSW Nationals leader John Barilaro says his federal colleagues should consider pushing the Liberals to hand over a Senate vacancy.
The Age - Published

Nats have case for Senate seat: NSW leader

NSW Nationals' leader John Barilaro has stirred the pot by saying a Nat should fill the Senate spot soon to be vacated by departing Liberal Arthur Sinodinos.
SBS - Published

Search this site and the web:

You Might Like

Environmentally friendly: One News Page is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2019 One News Page Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Press Room  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest
One News® is a registered trademark of One News Page Ltd.