City of Brisbane

Local government area in Queensland, Australia

City of Brisbane    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

City of Brisbane: Local government area in Queensland, Australia
The City of Brisbane is a local government area that has jurisdiction over the inner portion of the metropolitan area of Brisbane, the capital of Queensland, Australia. Brisbane is located in the county of Stanley and is the largest city followed by Ipswich with bounds in part of the county. Unlike LGAs in the other mainland state capitals, which are generally responsible only for the central business districts and inner neighbourhoods of those cities, the City of Brisbane administers a significant portion of the Brisbane metropolitan area, serving almost half of the population of the Brisbane Greater Capital City Statistical Area. As such, it has a larger population than any other local government area in Australia. The City of Brisbane was the first Australian LGA to reach a population of more than one million. Its population is roughly equivalent to the populations of Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory combined. In 2016–2017, the council administers a budget of over $3 billion, by far the largest budget of any LGA in Australia.


You Might Like

Brisbane mayor claims election victory in Queensland

Adrian Schrinner will remain as Brisbane's lord mayor after Queenslanders voted in 77 local government polls and by-elections.
SBS - Published

Search this site and the web: