Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Saturday, 31 July 2021

Delhi Metro

Rapid transit system in India serving Delhi and surrounding region

Delhi Metro
Delhi Metro

The Delhi Metro is a mass rapid transit (MRT) system serving Delhi and its satellite cities of Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Gurugram, Noida, Bahadurgarh and Ballabhgarh, in the National Capital Region of India. It is by far the largest and busiest metro rail system in India, and the second oldest after the Kolkata Metro. The network consists of 10 colour-coded lines serving 253 stations in Delhi with a total length of 348 kilometres (216 mi) and has a full reach of 285 stations with a total length of 389 kilometres (242 mi) when including the Gurugram Metro and Noida Metro. The system has a mix of underground, at-grade, and elevated stations using both broad-gauge and standard-gauge. Delhi Metro operates over 2,700 trips daily, starting at around 05:00 and ending at 23:30.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage