Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Friday, 30 July 2021

French Open

Annual tennis championship event

French Open
French Open

The French Open, officially known as Roland-Garros, is a major tennis tournament held over two weeks at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris, France, beginning in late May each year. The tournament and venue are named after the French aviator Roland Garros. The French Open is the premier clay court championship in the world. It is the second of the four annual Grand Slam tournaments. The other three are the Australian Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open. The French Open is the only Grand Slam tournament held on clay. Until 1975, the French Open was the only major tournament not played on grass. Between the seven rounds needed for a championship, the clay surface characteristics, and the best-of-five-set men's singles matches, the French Open is generally considered the most physically demanding tournament in the world.

0 shares 6 views

News coverage

Wimbledon day eight: Highlights from SW19

PA - Press Association STUDIO

Highlights from day eight of Wimbledon as World number one Ashleigh Barty powered her way into the semi-finals with a straight-sets..

French Open media coverage


More coverage