Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Friday, 18 June 2021


Intergovernmental military alliance


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization, also called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance between 30 European and North American countries. The organization implements the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949. NATO constitutes a system of collective defence whereby its independent member states agree to mutual defence in response to an attack by any external party. NATO's Headquarters are located in Haren, Brussels, Belgium, while the headquarters of Allied Command Operations is near Mons, Belgium.

0 shares 4 views

News coverage

NATO media coverage


More coverage

U.S. exceeds 600,000 COVID-19 deaths

Reuters - Politics

The United States passed 600,000 COVID-19 deaths on Monday, a painful reminder that death, sickness and grief still persist, as the..