Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Sunday, 20 June 2021

Scottish Parliament

Devolved parliament of Scotland

Scottish Parliament
Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament is the devolved, unicameral legislature of Scotland. Located in the Holyrood area of the capital city, Edinburgh, it is frequently referred to by the metonym Holyrood. The Parliament is a democratically elected body comprising 129 members known as Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs), elected for five-year terms under the additional member system: 73 MSPs represent individual geographical constituencies elected by the plurality (first-past-the-post) system, while a further 56 are returned from eight additional member regions, each electing seven MSPs. The most recent general election to the Parliament was held on 6 May 2021, with the Scottish National Party winning a plurality.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

Scottish Parliament media coverage


More coverage

Counting under way in Scottish constituencies

PA - Press Association STUDIO

Daily politics briefing: May 5

PA - Press Association STUDIO