Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 29 July 2021

Indian National Congress

Political party in India

Indian National Congress
Indian National Congress

The Indian National Congress is one of the two major political parties in India, along with its main rival the Bharatiya Janata Party.The Congress is a "big tent" party whose platform is generally considered in the centre in its ideological orientation, of Indian politics. Its social policy is based upon the Gandhian principle of Sarvodaya–the lifting up of all sections of society–which involves the improvement of the lives of economically underprivileged and socially marginalised people. On social issues, it advocates secular policies that encourage equal opportunity, right to health, civil liberty and welfare of weaker sections and minorities, with support for a mixed economy. As of 2021, in the 17 general elections since independence, it has won an outright majority on seven occasions and has led the ruling coalition a further three times, heading the central government for more than 54 years. There have been six Congress Prime Ministers, the first being Jawaharlal Nehru (1947–1964), and the most recent Manmohan Singh (2004–2014).

0 shares 3 views

News coverage

Indian National Congress media coverage


More coverage