Western New Guinea

Region in Indonesia

Western New Guinea    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Western New Guinea: Region in Indonesia
Western New Guinea, also known as Papua, is the Indonesian part of the island of New Guinea. Since the island is alternatively named as Papua, the region is also called West Papua. Lying to the west of the independent state of Papua New Guinea, it is the only Indonesian territory to be situated in Oceania. The territory is mostly in the Southern Hemisphere and also includes nearby islands, including the Schouten and Raja Ampat archipelagoes. The region is predominantly covered with ancient rainforest where numerous traditional tribes live, such as the Dani of the Baliem Valley, although a large proportion of the population live in or near coastal areas, with the largest city being Jayapura.


You Might Like

West Papuan woman with neurofibromatosis given new lease of life thanks to Sydney surgeons

A West Papuan woman has gone under the knife in Australia to remove benign facial tumours after spending a lifetime struggling to eat, drink and speak.
SBS - Published

Don't let West Papua become the next Timor-Leste, exiled independence leader warns Australia

West Papuan independence leader Benny Wenda has called on Prime Minister Scott Morrison to make a public condemnation of Indonesia's bloody crackdown on pro-independence protesters.
SBS - Published

Explainer: Deepening unrest in Indonesia's Papua

Indonesia's easternmost provinces of Papua and West Papua on the island of New Guinea - collectively known as Papua - have been racked by civil unrest for almost two weeks.
Reuters - Published

Search this site and the web: