Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Saturday, 24 July 2021

Latin America

Region of the Americas where Romance languages are primarily spoken

Latin America
Latin America

Latin America is the portion of the Western Hemisphere comprising countries where Romance languages—languages that derived from Latin—such as Spanish, Portuguese, and French, are predominantly spoken. The term is used for those places brought under the Spanish Empire, Portuguese Empire in Brazil, and the French Colonial Empire in the circum-Caribbean region. Some subnational regions known as French America such as Quebec and parts of the United States where Romance languages are primarily spoken are not usually included due to the countries as a whole being a part of Anglo-America,. The term is broader than categories such as Hispanic America, which specifically refers to Spanish-speaking countries and Ibero-America, which specifically refers to both Spanish and Portuguese-speaking countries. The term is also more recent in origin.

0 shares 2 views

News coverage

Latin America media coverage


More coverage