Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Saturday, 17 April 2021

Senate (France)

Upper house of the French Parliament

Senate (France)
Senate (France)

The Senate is the upper house of the French Parliament, which, along with the National Assembly—the lower chamber—constitutes the legislature of France. It is made up of 348 Senators elected by part of the country's local councilors, i.e., in indirect elections, as well as by French citizens living abroad. Senators have six-year terms, with half of the seats up for election every three years.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage

You might like