Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Monday, 20 September 2021

New York (state)

State of the United States

New York (state)
New York (state)

New York is a state in the Mid-Atlantic and Northeastern regions of the United States. It was one of the original thirteen colonies forming the United States. With a total area of 54,556 square miles (141,300 km2), New York is the 27th largest state by land area; its population of more than 20 million people in 2020 makes it the fourth most populous state in the United States. The state is bordered by New Jersey and Pennsylvania to the south and Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont to the east; it has a maritime border with Rhode Island, east of Long Island, as well as an international border with the Canadian provinces of Quebec to the north and Ontario to the northwest. It is sometimes called as New York State to distinguish it from New York City, which is its largest city and contains 44% of the state's population.

0 shares 4 views

News coverage

New York (state) media coverage


More coverage