Falkland Islands

Group of islands in the South Atlantic

Falkland Islands    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Falkland Islands: Group of islands in the South Atlantic
The Falkland Islands is an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean on the Patagonian Shelf. The principal islands are about 300 miles east of South America's southern Patagonian coast and about 752 miles from the northern tip of the Antarctic Peninsula, at a latitude of about 52°S. The archipelago, with an area of 4,700 square miles, comprises East Falkland, West Falkland and 776 smaller islands. As a British overseas territory, the Falklands have internal self-governance, and the United Kingdom takes responsibility for their defence and foreign affairs. The Falkland Islands' capital is Stanley on East Falkland.


You Might Like

Falkland Islands reports first case of the coronavirus

Falkland Islands has confirmed the island territory's first case of the coronavirus, the government said in a statement on Friday.
Reuters - Published

Britain gives Argentina back Madonna statue taken from Falklands

Thirty-seven years after the Falklands war, a tiny statue of the Madonna taken at the end of the conflict and held in Britain ever since is going home to Argentina in a gesture of reconciliation..
Reuters - Published

Search this site and the web: