Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 17 June 2021

Torres Strait

Torres Strait
Torres Strait

The Torres Strait is a strait between Australia and the Melanesian island of New Guinea. It is 151 km (94 mi) wide at its narrowest extent. To the south is Cape York Peninsula, the northernmost extremity of the Australian mainland. To the north is the Western Province of Papua New Guinea. It is named after the Spanish navigator Luís Vaz de Torres, who sailed through the strait in 1606.

0 shares 1 views

News coverage