Skip to main content
Australia Edition
Thursday, 25 February 2021


Country spanning Eastern Europe and Northern Asia


Russia, or the Russian Federation, is a transcontinental country spanning Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It covers over 17,125,191 square kilometres (6,612,073 sq mi), consists of more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area, extends to eleven time zones, and has borders with sixteen sovereign nations. Moscow is the country's capital and largest city, while Saint Petersburg is the second-largest city. The Russians are the largest Slavic and European nation, and Russian is the most spoken Slavic language; as well as the most spoken native language in Europe.

0 shares 4 views

News coverage

You might like

Russia media coverage


More coverage

Putin and Lukashenko go skiing

Reuters Studio

Russian President Vladimir Putin and his Belarusian counterpart Alexander Lukashenko went skiing together on Monday at the famous..