by 👩💻 Alice Monroe
Facebook Messenger users to be given 10-minute-long window to retract messages
Facebook Messenger has become one of the most important instant messaging services available for smartphones and tablets the world over. While its parent brand also owns one-time competitor WhatsApp, the service has a sizeable chunk of the IM market, with IMs largely having taken precedent over SMS messaging in the past few years. A brand new, lucrative feature, according to The Verge, is set to appear as part of the app’s features very soon – meaning you can now repeal messages you’ve already sent to other parties.
According to recent release notes offered for upcoming updates to Facebook Messenger, it appears the ability to delete messages after they have been sent may be arriving sooner than many people assumed. It’s been widely known for some time that Facebook has been able to delete messages sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg, and talk of everyday users being able to ‘undo’ messages they have already sent has been buzzing since last month. The feature will reportedly allow users to delete messages up to ten minutes after sending them, meaning that if they feel they made a mistake, they can now undo it without fear of the other party seeing the original missive.
▶ Facebook to Soon Give Users 10 Minutes to Unsend Messages
“Coming soon,” reads Messenger’s latest release notes via its iOS app, “Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
The feature, when it arrives, will likely be a big draw for many users who have all too often found themselves regretting sending certain messages or photos. The feature may well lead the way for other IMs to do the same. It’s a system which has been part of Google’s mail system for some time, but the ability for phone users to undo certain messages could cut down on a significant amount of awkward moments and sinking feelings. It should be noted, however, that WhatsApp has already had such a feature ingrained for some time – and that you can ‘undo’ messages on their platform up to an hour after you have sent them.
Therefore, it’s unclear why Facebook has opted to go for a shorter delete period for its flagship IM. Could this mean similar truncation of time is set to sweep across WhatsApp in future releases? At this moment in time, it’s pure speculation.