by 👨💻 Simon Baxendale
In a day and age where so much of our lives are based online, it would be nice to think that whenever we choose to ‘delete’ something, they remain ‘deleted’. However, with cloud storage and certain privacy policies coming into play, that isn’t always going to be the case. According to a recent report by TechCrunch, Twitter seems to have fallen foul of such behavior, as it appears that they may be retaining private or direct messages (known commonly as DMs) despite users having deleted them outright.
However, Saini’s evidence suggests otherwise. This archive appears to suggest that some data from suspended or discarded accounts could still be accessed should other people they may have interacted with wish to download their own history. Twitter has allowed users to download all of their social data for some time now – what’s missing, however, is the functionality to be able to reverse a DM, which is a policy which in itself appears to have been reversed by the brand over the years.
Twitter Keeps DMs After You Delete Them [video]
Twitter has thus far offered only a vague response. It is reportedly “looking into this further to ensure we (Twitter) have considered the entire scope of the issue.” Many privacy campaigners and experts are concerned that the proof may land Twitter in hot legal water, at least as far as recent European privacy regulations are concerned. This means Twitter may be at risk of being fined heavily as a result of GDPR ruling. Whether or not that will come to pass, however, is pure speculation at this time.